Hello I’m new to the Cadillac world and have recently purchased a 1963 2 door coupe. The car was a project that wasn’t finished by last owner so I have slowly been getting it back together. The motor was rebuilt by previous owner with a hotter cam. I thought I had it tuned but tried to drive it and it severely lacked power. After checking everything I noticed the road tube was out of its hole on the intake. I tried putting it back and the grommet started cracking and falling apart. My question is do I need this? I read the 1406 installation posted on the site and the author stated he felt the 1406 ran better without PCV. What have you guys done?

Thank you

Views: 171

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

The terminology Road tube is not something I understand 

Can you post a picture or describe the item in different terms or its location 

Enjoy 

I think the correct term is road draft tube it sits under the intake and drops in a hole on the “valley cover.” If I understand correctly is used for PCV purposes. Sorry new to the site trying to figure out how to post pics.

Have you done a very complete tune up  on spec —-including new  ignition wires dist cap  rotor and ignition timing  

Ignition system would be my first check for lack of power— especially timing which is 5 degrees stock after the  new points are set at a dwell angle of 28-32 

Check the dist vac advance to see if it hold a vacuum

Enjoy

Yes 

The tube runs from under the intake into the front of the carb with a PVC valve just before entering the carb 

That tube clears the crankcase of vaporized oil fumes and would recommend you keep it stock -  the crankcase ventilation system 

I would plug both ends — the intake valley and the carbs entrance until you replace the stock hose and PCV valve in that hose 

You have a major vacuum leak if the PVC line going into the car is open preventing the carb from drawing air over its ventuires and mixing air and gas  in the carb as it should  be doing